Prof Chen-Ning Yang has his chief interest in two fields in physics, including statistical mechanics and symmetry principles. His work influenced significantly the development of particle physics.
To recognise his contribution, Prof Yang has received many awards. In addition to sharing the 1957 Nobel Prize in Physics, he was awarded the Rumford Prize (1980), the U.S. National Medal of Science (1986), Oskar Klein Memorial Lecture and Medal (1988), Benjamin Franklin Medal (1993), Bower Award (1994), Albert Einstein Medal (1995), Lars Onsager Prize (1999) and the King Faisal International Prize (2001).

Prof Yang was awarded Honorary Member of PSHK in 2018 "for his profound and inspiring influence on Physics and the Sciences in Hong Kong."