About PSHK

Society Information

The formation of the Physical Society of Hong Kong (PSHK) was first motivated in Feb 1966 by a group of physicists from two universities at that time (that is, the Chinese University of Hong Kong and the University of Hong Kong) and from industries in Hong Kong. A preparation committee was formed and in September 1966, the Society was formally constituted. Officers and Council members were also elected for a one-year period. In Nov 1966, the Hong Kong Government officially approved the Constitution of PSHK.

At the present time, we have over 100 members from all six physics departments in the local universities. The Society is a member of the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS). Moreover, members of PSHK also receive reciprocal membership from the American Physical Society. 

Currently, the executive committee of the PSHK consists of the President, Vice-President, Hon. Secretary and Hon. Treasurer. And the Council consists of 18 members coming from all 6 physics departments in Hong Kong.

Objectives of the Society

To advance and disseminate knowledge and appreciation of physics and physical sciences, and to promote physics and science education.

To encourage and to foster friendly collaboration with the members of other scientific, engineering and educational institutions, societies and organizations both local and aboard.

To sponsor social and recreational activities among members of the Society.

Copyright © 2016 Physical Society of Hong Kong. All rights reserved.